Freedom

Not just from here, but worldwide oppression
Release me from prison and the states repression
Got me victimized like brothers in Attica
Exploited by the imperialist like my people in Africa
I need freedom from all this racial hate
Unlock my chains from the laws of the state
I don’t want to be controlled by 1% of this nation
So take off my shackles of capitalist exploitation
Free me from the war on the poor, called war on gangs
And this war on me because I fight for chance
I just want to be free, I’m tired of being a victim
Tired of being oppressed by the United States system
I don’t want to be here occupying your prisons
Witnessing communities staying poor because of government decisions
I got to make a stand, never will I sit
Freedom is what I want, freedom I’m going to get

-Faheem Abdir-Rahim